Telugu Desam Party (TDP) | Indian Politics

Telugu Desam Party (TDP)

Again Indiagossip is with the new political party under the category of Indian politics. So This party is Telugu Desam Party (TDP).

Telugu Desam Party (TDP)

Origin and Brief History of Telugu Desam Party (TDP)

The Telugu Desam Party (TDP) was founded by Nandamuri Taraka Rama Rao (NTR) on 29 March 1982.

The TDP stormed to power within 9 months of its formation, in 1983 Assembly elections, thus forming the first non-Congress government in Andra Pradesh. So it became popular.

Moreover, The party has governed Andhra Pradesh twice from 1983 to 1989 and from 1994 to 2004.

Since 1995, the party headed by N. Chandrababu Naidu, the incumbent Leader of opposition in the Andhra Pradesh State Assembly.

On 23rd August 1995, Naidu engineered an internal party coup against NTR. After that, His main reason to take over the party and government from NTR was that NTR’s second wife Lakshmi Parvathi was mishandling the party internal affairs in order to be the successor to NTR in the party and that the party was in danger of disintegrating.

Target Constituents

Native Telugu-speaking electoral and regional Andhra pride proponents.

Common man, economically disadvantaged sections, women, youth & all backward segments of society.

Additionally, tech-savvy young electorate targeted by N. Chandrababu Naidu’s technology-friendly policies.

Muslim & Christan minorities in Andhra Pradesh.

Key Persons of Telugu Desam Party (TDP)

Party Founder – Nandamuri Taraka Rama Rao (NTR)

Current Leader/President – N. Chandrababu Naidu

 Leader in Lok Sabha – Thota Narsimham

Leader in Rajya Sabha – Tulla Devender Goud

Main Ideological Thrust

Occupies Centre-Left position in the political spectrum.

Ideology is Populist, Regionalist, and Social Liberalist.

Major Electoral Achievements (Centre & States)

Within 9 months of the foundation, the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) bagged 202 seats in the Tamil Nadu Assembly elections in 1983, thus forming the first non-congress government in Andra Pradesh.

It also achieved the rare distinction of being the first regional party to become the main opposition party (33 MPs in parliament Compared to 2 MPs of Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP) in 1984 elections after the sympathy wave sweep by the Indian National Congress (INC) in the 8th Lok Sabha (1984 to 1989).

The TDP has governed Andhra Pradesh twice from 1983 to 1989 and then from 1994 to 2004.

So It came back to power in April 2014 in Andra Pradesh.

Current State Governments/Opposition

Currently, N Chandrababu Naidu is the Chief Minister of the Andhra Pradesh, after the separation of Telangana.

Trivia of Telugu Desam Party (TDP)

Telugu Desam Party (TDP) is the first regional party to become the main opposition party in the Lok Sabha, after the 1984 elections.

Party Election Symbol – Bicycle

When Telugu Desam Party(TDP) was in Andra Pradesh, both, Tony Blair, Former Prime Minister of England and Bill Clinton, former president of the United States of America (USA) visited Chandrababu Naidu at Hyderabad.

The governor of Illinois, USA declared Naidu Day in his honour.

Telugu Desam Party (TDP) supremo Naidu was described as one of the Hidden Seven Working wonders around the world, by Profit, a monthly magazine published by Oracle Corporation.

Related Search

Election 2019, Indian Political Parties, PM Modi, Narendra Modi, BJP, Congress, AAP, Rahul Gandhi, Achievements of India, Public Sector Banks, Arvind Kejriwal, Instagram plus, Ludo Kings.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *