Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) | Indian Politics

Nationalist Congress Party (NCP)

Accordingly given below, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) is the one of the old party. So NCP is the one of the major party of 1999. After that, it became the third largest party with the 58 seat. so we can say that it is also capable next ruling party.Nationalist Congress Party (NCP)…

Nationalist Congress Party (NCP)

Origin & Brief History of Nationalist Congress Party (NCP)

NCP was formed on 25th May 1999 by Sharad Pawar, P. A. Sangma & Tariq Anwar after they were expelled from the Indian National Congress (INC) on 20th May 1999, for disputing the right of Italian-born Sonia Gandhi to lead the Party. But, came back to be a part of the Congress fold in Maharastra to form the government and then in UPA 1 & 2.

At the time of formation, the party also absorbed Indian Congress (Socialist), which traced its origins to the state of Maharastra.

So that, On 20th June 2012, Sangma quit the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) to contest in presidential polls.

Target Constitutions

Primarily Maharastra-based, with a sprinkling of support in Meghalaya & Manipur.

Rural electors & farmers, agriculturist, etc.

Semi-urban & urban lower-income group, etc.

Key Persons of Nationalist Congress Party (NCP)

Party President/Chairperson – Sharad Pawar

General Secretary – Tariq Anwar (Former Minister of state for Agriculture)

Praful Patel – Former Civil Aviation Minister, Former Cabinet Minister for Heavy Industries

Ajit Pawar – Former Dy. Chief Minister of Maharastra

Chagan Nhujbal – Former Minister of Public Works, Maharastra

R. R. Patil – Former Home Minister of Maharastra

Agatha K Sangma – Former Minister of state for rural development

Supriya Sule – MP

Main Ideological Thrust

So, The Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) is a Centre of centre-left political Party.

Their stated ideology is Progressivism, Secular Democracy, Gandhian Secularism, Egalitarianism, Social Justice, Federalism, Social Conservatism, and Nationalism.

Major Electoral Achievements (Centre & State)

Centre (Lok Sabha elections) – 6 seats in 1999, 9 seats each in 2004 & 2009, 6 seats in 2014.

State (Maharastra) – 58 seats in 1999 (3rd largest party), 71 seats in 2004 (Single Largest Party) & 62 seats in 2009 (2nd Largest Party) and 41 seats in 2014(4th largest party).

SO 20th June 2012, founder-member PA Sangma quit the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) to contest in presidential polls vs. Pranab Mukherjee but lost.

Trivia of Nationalist Congress Party (NCP)

Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) election symbol is an analogue clock (with two legs and an alarm button) that reads 10:10.

Moreover, Its youth wing is the Nationalist Youth Congress.

Party HQ – 10, Bishambhar Das Marg, New Delhi.

After On 20th June 2012, PA Sangma quit the NCP to contest the 2012 presidential polls, So he now heads a national level political party called National People’s Party(Founded on 6th January 2013) with a book as its symbol.

According to an RTI query filled with the Election Commission, there is no registered party with the official name “Rashtrawari Congress Party” (Used by most of NCP Ministers while taking the oath, etc). So The registered name of the NCP is actually “Nationalist Congress Party”, and “Rastrawadi Congress Party” is merely the Marathi/Hindi translation being used. So a group of political activists in Navi Mumbai actually registered a new political party named “Rastrawadi Congress Party” in October 2013.


Similarly, India has enough young generation to handle political system. There are many factors which can affect the political system In Which Some of are Misuse Of Political Power and Corruption. So Indian youth Should help to boost up India in the terms of technological and economic reforms.

Related Tags

Indian Politics, PM Modi, Election 2019, Indian Congress, Lucky Patcher, mini militia Game.

One thought on “Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) | Indian Politics

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *