All India Trinamool Congress (AITC) | Indian Politics

All India Trinamool Congress (AITC)

Again Indiagossip presenting brief detail about All India Trinamool Congress (AITC). It is one of the political party from the West Bengal. Mamata Banerji is the current chief minister of the West Bengal.

All India Trinamool Congress (AITC)Origin & Brief History of All India Trinamool Congress (AITC)

Founded on 1st January 1998 by Mamta Banerjee.

After remaining with the Indian National Congress (INC) for over 2 decades, Mamta Banerjee formed her own party, the Trinamool Congress, which was registered with the Election Commission of India during mid-December 1997.

After that, The Election Commission allotted to the party an exclusive symbol of Jora Ghas Phul (blades of grass & flowers).

Target Constitutions

Rural & Urban poor, unemployed youth, disadvantaged sections of society, etc.

Recently there has been a distinct shift of Left-wing supporters from the CPI-CPI(M) to All India Trinamool Congress (TMC).

Key Persons of All India Trinamool Congress (AITC)

Party Founder/Chairperson – Mamta Banerjee (CM of West Bengal)

Leader in Lok Sabha – Sudip Bandyopadhyay

Party Leader in Rajya Sabha – Mukul Roy (ex-Railway MInister)

Chief Whip in the Rajya Sabha – Derek O’Brien

Main Ideological Thrust of All India Trinamool Congress (AITC)

The political position is centre-Left.

The Political ideology is populism, Socialism and Secularism.

Major Electoral Achievements (Center & States)

At 1998, Lok Sabha polls, TMC won 7 seats. So it became popular.

The next Lok Sabha elections that were held in 1999. After that, All India Trinamool Congress (TMC) won 8 seats.

In 2000, TMC won the Kolkata Municipal Corporation Elections.

Moreover, 2001, Vidhan Sabha Elections, All India Trinamool Congress (AITC) won 60 seats with Indian National Congress (INC).

In the Lok Sabha elections, TMC won 1 seats.

Also in 2006 Vidhan Sabha elections, TMC won 30 seats.2009 Lok Sabha election, Trinamool Congress won 19 seats from West Bengal.

In the West Bengal assembly election of 2011, All India Trinamool Congress (AITC) won a majority of 184 seats out of 294. So Mamta Banerjee became the Chief Minister.

Moreover, Trinamool Congress (TMC) also has 5 MLAs in the Arunachal Pradesh Assembly, 7 MLAs in the Manipur Assembly and 1 MLAs in Assam & Uttar Pradesh each.

Trinamool Congress (TMC) also have 1 MP in Rajya Sabha from Jharkhand.

It is the 4th largest party in 33 Lok Sabha Seats.

Current State Governments/Opposition

Currently in power in West Bengal with a simple majority of 187 out of 294.

Trivia of All India Trinamool Congress (AITC)

Mamta Banerji has released a slogan, Ma Mati Manush. After that “Mother, Motherland and people” became the theme of that term. The slogan became very popular in West Bengal during 2011 assembly election. Later, Mamta Banerjee wrote a Bengali book with the same title. After That, They also released a song the same title to glorify the theme.

According to a report published in June 2011, it was one of the six most popular political slogans of India at that time.

So that, The psychedelic green-blue-saffron colour scheme of the long-distance Duronto Express trains of Indian Railways is based on the painting of Mamta Banerjee.


BJP, AAP, Election 2019, Indian political Party, AIDMKIndian Politics, Congress, BSP Party, PM Modi, technical parts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *