All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) | Indian Politics

All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK)

Again India gossip is here with the new documentary about All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK).  Currently, Paneerselavm is the chief minister of it.

All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK)

Origin & Brief History

The All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) is a Dravidian party founded by M.G. Ramachandran (Popularly known as MGR) in 1972 as a breakaway faction of the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK), due to serious differences between MGR & M Karunanidhi.

Earlier called Anna Munnetra Kazhagam (ADMK) by MGR, the party leaders later prefixed All India (AI) tag before the party name.

Since its inception, the relationship between the AIADMK  and DMK has been marked with mutual contempt.

Moreover, In 1979, AIADMK became the first Dravidian and regional party to be part of the Union Cabinet when two AIADMK  MPs joined the short-lived Charan Singh Ministry.

Since 1989, Jayalalithaa Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu became leader of AIADMK

Currently, O Pannerselvam is the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu, following the arrest of Jayalalithaa in the case of acquisition of disproportionate assets.

Key Persons of All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK)

Party Founder – M.G. Ramachandran

Current President/leader – O. Pannerselvam

O. Pannerselvam – Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu from 2001-2002 and September 2014- May 2015

Main Ideological Thrust of All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK)

Political position can be described as Centrist.

Ideological leanings are Social Democracy & Polulatism.

Major Electoral Achievements (Centre & States)

The AIADMK came to power in1977 after trouncing DMK in the assembly elections. After that MGR became 7th Chief Minister of the state on 30 June 1977. MGR remained in power for ten years until his death in December 1987, winning three consecutive assembly elections (1977, 1980 and 1984).

Moreover, In 1979, AIADMK became the first Dravidian & regional party to be part of the Union Cabinet.

Through it won just 2 Lok Sabha seats in the mid-term parliamentary elections of January 1980.After that, the AIADMK won a comfortable majority in the state assembly by winning 129 seats out of 234.

AIADMK suffered heavily in 1989 Assembly elections, due to a split into the Janaki and Jayalalithaa factions, winning only 2 and 27 seats respectively.

Achieved a landslide victory in 1991 Assembly elections in alliance with Indian National Congress (INC).

Formed an alliance with Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP) and MDMK during the parliamentary elections in 1998. Shared power with the Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP) in the Atal Bihari Vajpayee headed government between 1998 to 1999, but withdrew support a year later, leading to the fall of the Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP) government.

Regained power in the 2001 Assembly elections, winning 132 seats.

Pushed out of power in the 2006 Assembly elections & fared poorly in the 2009 Lok Sabha elections, but stormed back to power in 2011 Assembly polls, winning 150 seats.

In all, ha won the Tamil Nadu assembly election 6 times to head the Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly.

In 2014 elections, AIADMK bagged 37 Lok Sabha seats, which is the 3rd highest number of seats in Lok Sabha election. After that it became popular.

Current State Governments/Opposition

Currently in power in Tamil Nadu with a significant majority of 151 seats out of 234 seats.

Has no representation in present Kerala and Karnataka assembly. In Karnataka, the AIADMK has had members in the state assembly.

Trivia of All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK)

Party Symbol – Two Leaves

Party Newspapers – Dr. Namathu MGR

Party TV Channel mouthpiece – Jaya TV

The Party HQ at 226, Avvai Shanmugam Salai, Roayapettah, Chennai was gifted to the party in 1986 by its former leader Janki Ramachandran, wife of MGR.

Many of the early leaders of the AIADMK were from the movie industry & their respective fan club, etc.

Jayalalithaa is popular as the name “Amma”. “Puratchi Thalaivi” is another name for her.

Related Tags

Election 2019, Indian Politics, Political Parties, Samajwadi PartyPM Modi, Narendra Modi, AITCBJP, Congress, Rahul Gandhi, AAP, Technical reviews, Technical Reforms.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *